Yamas & Niyamas

A green background with the quote text over the top.

Recently my, physical/asana practice has been very limited – a combination of the house move and shoulder injuries means it’s just been more difficult than usual. But this doesn’t mean I’ve not been practicing yoga. I’ve spent 3 years practicing asana, so now it’s really nice to dedicate some time to the other areas of yoga.

I’ve previously mentioned the eight limbs of yoga, specifically the Yamas and Niyamas. I am by no means an expert, I’m still learning myself and I always will be, but I’m looking forward to sharing and discussing the Yamas and Niyamas with you.

I’ll often be referencing the work of Deborah Adele (www.DeborahAdele.com) and the book ‘The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga’s Ethical Practice’. I’ll be using this as a guide for our exploration as I like the way each element (or jewels, as they are referred to in the book) is explained.

I’ll start with this quote by Deborah Adele:

The Yamas & Niyamas are foundational to all yogic thought. Yoga is a sophisticated system that extends far beyond doing yoga postures; it is literally a way of living. Yoga is designed to bring you more and more awareness of not only your body but also your thoughts.

Deborah Adele ( http://www.DeborahAdele.com )

Have you heard of the yamas and niyamas before? What is your experience of them?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.