The Yamas

Various watercolour images accompanied by the names of the yamas

Yamas translates roughly as restraints and covers our attitudes toward our environment. The yamas are:

  • Ahimsa (Nonviolence)
  • Satya (Truthfulness)
  • Asteya (Nonstealing)
  • Brahmacarya (Nonexcess)
  • Aparigraha (Nonposessiveness)

I realise that at a first glance, you can see a lot of words starting with ‘Non’ – however, these guidelines, or restraints, are not about limiting your life, they are about opening up and living your life. They are about taking ownership of your life.

Which of the yamas are you most interested in learning more about?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.