The Eight Limbs (part 1)

I’ve just released the 5th episode of Coffee & Musings on my Patreon page. In this episode I talk about the eight limbs of yoga, focusing on the first four to start with: Yama, Niyama, Asana, and Pranayama.

The eight limbs comes from the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali which is often used as a guide for the practice of yoga, but it is not the definitive guide – there are lots of texts used. I’m starting with this because it was the first element of yoga philosophy I was introduced to.

In the video I read from three books – this is because the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali were written in Sanskrit so people can interpret them slightly differently.

These are the three books I read from:

  • The Inner Tradition of Yoga – Michael Stone
  • Every Body Yoga – Jessamyn Stanley
  • The Heart of Yoga – T. K. V. Desikachar

Do you have any favourite books that discuss the Eight Limbs?

In this episode I focus on the on the first four limbs:

Yama: Attitudes towards our environment

Niyama: Attitudes towards ourselves

Asana: The practice of physical postures

Pranayama: The practice of breathing exercises

Join my Patreon to hear the full discussion, and let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.